GST meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month, September
through May. The meetings follow a technical luncheon format.
Lunch is served at 11:30 AM, followed by a speaker at 12:00 noon.

The GST provides professional development for practicing 
geophysicists and other geoscience professionals by offering 
continuing education and an annual symposium.

Officers are elected each May and take office the following July.


The Geophysical Society of Tulsa was the first of the local sections of the Society 
of Exploration Geophysicists to be organized. The organization took place February 4, 
1947, at a meeting attended by sixty local members of the SEG and guests. The temporary 
officers elected were: 

* President ................ R. Clare Coffin 
* Vice-President ........... E. Jack Handley 
* Secretary ................ Colin C. Campbell 

The first regular meeting and technical session was held March 13, 1947, in the Student 
Union of the University of Tulsa. The original constitution and bylaws were drafted by 
V. L. Jones, Stanley W. Wilcox, and the temporary officers. The charter members were 
signed, bringing the total membership to 130. The temporary officers served until the 
May 1947 meeting.